running again with new focus…

Since I ran the Edge to Edge Marathon in early June, I have not really been out pounding the pavement too much. My distance has been low and I’ve only been getting out once or twice a week.

Finally about two weeks ago I decided I had better get going again. There is a local half marathon coming up near the end of October that I would like to run in before the year ends so I have been starting to put some mileage on.

Part of my encouragement to get back at it again was reading “Keep on Running; The Highs and Lows of a Marathon Addict” by Phil Hewitt. His is a story of multiple marathons, how he became addicted to the run and his adventures at the many marathons he has chosen to run. It’s a good read but after a while each chapter seems the same, just a different location and you can skim through the story to quickly see how Phil made out in his chosen marathon location.

I have also been reading some of Matt Fitzgerald’s books on running,  “The New Rules of Marathon and Half-Marathon Nutrition”, “Racing Weight” and currently “80/20 Running”.  I’m no speedster nor am I anywhere near a serious runner but I do have some goals and I like the way Fitzgerald lays out his plans.  I have lost a bit of weight following some guidelines taken from “Racing Weight” and I am liking what I am reading in “80/20”. It is this book and plan that I hope will guide me to run the two halfs with an increase in performance. I have run a total of two half marathons and both have been sub 2 hour times, around 1:53, 1:55. I’d like to see if I could do something around 1:45 to show that the “80/20” system works and give me something to build upon. Using the “80/20” book as a plan for the 1/2, I am going to pick things up in week 11 of the prescribed training program.

The training actually started today and of course the first run was a recovery run…slow, agonizingly slow, so slow people in walkers were passing by me! I feel that if I were to run any slower I’d tip over. My goal is to use the remaining weeks to train using this system and see how my finishing time plays out. If it’s good, I’ll focus on using the “80/20” system for next seasons races. I’m quite familiar with the course we will run so that is no problem, the only concern is if Mother Nature chooses to drop snow on us before the race date. having already had a big dump of snow the first weekend of September, I’m not encouraged Mother Nature will play nice.

 

Leave a Reply

