Is my marathon run in jeopardy?

Since my last post, in fact about 2 hours after I posted it, I had an accident. I dropped a metal cart, all 150 lbs of it on my right toes. I have a high tolerance for pain but this made me want to puke. I thought I had broken all my toes.

Luckily, or maybe not, the brunt of the impact was absorbed by my big toe. This is the result right after impact…IMG_0132

It got worse as the day went on as I had to spend a lot of time on my feet. I didn’t run on Monday but played a bit of tennis in the evening to see how it felt. Turns out it didn’t feel too bad but it did bleed just a bit.

Today, Tuesday, I went for a 6 km run at race pace. This would be a big test of the toe. To my surprise, there didn’t seem to be any issues. No pain, no bleeding and my running form did not seem to be affected by the toe.

After the run I noticed that quite a bit of blood had pooled under the skin just at the base of the nail. I decided to try and get rid of it. Here’s how that went…

Getting rid of the blood and pressure has seemed to help. I have a 10 km run tomorrow as my last run of any length (just a short 3 km jog on Saturday) before Sunday’s marathon. Hopefully all stays well.

 

Leave a Reply

