another week, more mileage…

The week ended this morning with a 16km long slow run on a very cold, but sunny day. The temperature when we started was -26 with wind chills at -34. There didn’t seem to be much wind but it was cold enough that when you faced north you could feel the bite on your face. This was the coldest temperatures that we have faced so far this year. And actually it’s the start of a new week, not the end of one, as Sunday runs start off the new week.

Our Sunday runs start at 0830 and like most of the country I was up at 5am to watch the gold medal mens hockey game which saw us beat Sweden 3-0, I would normally have gotten up at 6am so the extra hour wasn’t any problem. It actually gave me time to have breakfast early enough to let me digest it. The run itself was very good with no issues whatsoever. My pace was 6:47 and I was able to keep my heart rate average at 125. The run time was 1:50:47. There weren’t really any walk breaks but we hit a few traffic lights that we had to stop at. When we finished, other than being pretty frosty, I had no discomfort at all. There weren’t as many people out for the group run this morning because there was a half marathon, “The Hypothermic Half” taking place in the river valley so a lot of people would have been running in it.

I don’t know if you saw this or not, but this is certainly how not to run in the winter. She was okay afterwards but boy it sure looks like she smacks her head pretty good;

http://deadspin.com/meet-the-girl-who-ate-it-after-interview-about-running-1519389938

Tomorrow, Monday is a rest day. It is also the day I am going to really start to try and be more aware of what I fuel my body with. I’m realizing the importance now how much proper nutrition, pre and post race, is to keeping your body going. I hope I can find the discipline to stay with this…I like my chips and cookies. Ideally I’d like to drop about 15 lbs from where I am now. It’s tough to drag 230 lbs around for a couple of hours at my age!!

So the past week saw me put in 43.5 km’s with runs of 13, 6, 10, 8 and 6 km’s. Sunday long runs will start to get longer now, Usually 2 runs of the same distance then an increase of 3 or 4 km’s for the next couple of runs and so on through the calendar.

My cardio is getting much better now that I don’t start out so fast, calves are good and I  really have nothing to complain about. Nutrition is my nemesis now!!

Leave a Reply

