winters back…

After a few days of reasonably good weather, just below zero, a freeze is coming back with anticipated wind chills of -30. Not nice.

My “heart attacks” in my calves seem to be under control. Lots of ice, a bit of heat and plenty of rolling with my foam and stick.

I just picked up “The New Rules of Marathon and Half-Marathon Nutrition: A Cutting Edge Plan to Fuel Your Body Beyond “the Wall” by Matt Fitzgerald. I’m trying to focus more on the nutritional side of training and how it can assist in my actual runs. Not that I haven’t been aware of the role proper nutrition plays in fitness, I just really haven’t put a focus on it. I’m 54, 6’2″ and weigh 23o. That’s a lot of heavy to carry around for hours at a time on a consistent basis. According to the standard BMI chart…I’m obese. I wouldn’t say that. I would like to get down to 220. I just like my beer and potato chips. Carbs right?? Whats wrong with that? In all honesty, I have cut out a lot of the bad stuff, it’s just that a lot of the good stuff doesn’t taste as good as the bad. I had mentioned in an earlier post that I noticed my belt needed to be snugged up a bit more. That’s good! I usually weigh myself at the beginning of the month.

Things I’ve picked up on so far; long slow runs are meant to be just that, and I’ve backed my training down from 5 days a week to 4 just to allow my body some extra time to recover.

Here’s a photo of me (in red) just beyond the finish line of the 2008 Vancouver Marathon…Vancouver 071

My time was 4:17:29 which was a 6:07 pace. Not what I had hoped for but I had stomach issues and you don’t gain much time sitting in a port-o-pottie. One other thing I found during this race is after a hour and a half of running and sweating a lot,especially in certain crevices of the body, toilet paper doesn’t really function well where and when it should!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

