winter clothing test

I was out doing some testing on winter wear. One thing I wanted to try was using vapour barriers in my boots to keep the liners from freezing up on overnight campouts. The other item was trying to dial in my layering system for hiking.

Although the boot test wasn’t what I had hoped it would be, it wasn’t a lost cause either. The answer may be in a specialized winter sock that acts as the vapour barrier.

As for the layering, I think I’ve settled on the MEC T3 zippered pullover (polyester) as my base layer, one of two polyester fleece’s over that (depending on temps I have a thin and a thicker one) and a MEC Synergy 4 outer shell that is waterproof and breathable.

I am heading off to the mountains south west of Calgary this weekend for a two night outing so I’ll keep everyone posted on how that went. They are in a snowfall warning as I write this and the lows are expected to be about -15c while we are down there. Sounds like it will be fun!

Leave a Reply

